PADI Certification in Phuket

PADI Certification in Phuket

I’m proud to say that I am currently halfway through my PADI Open Water Diver Certification course as of this evening. I’ll write a more in-depth post after completing the course and the rest of the dives, but I figured I would let you all know what I’ve been up to!
If you don’t know, I’m not exactly a water-person. So this has been a huge step out of my comfort zone, but my stubbornness has certainly helped me to push myself past the, ahem, less-than-comfortable parts. I’m also so lucky to have Braydon with me to help keep me positive and push me through, as well as the support from both Braydon’s family here, and my family back at home.
For now, here’s a photo of me learning new skills at the bottom of the [freezing cold] pool!

2 responses to “PADI Certification in Phuket

  1. PADI vs SSI. Any insights on why you picked a PADI course? πŸ™‚ I want to do mine on Koh Tao….I heard that’s best for diving?

    Sorry to spam your blog xD but i like every post! Keep up the great job!

    • Honestly we went with PADI because Braydon’s parents already had their Open Water Certification from Padi in Belize, so we did PADI so we were all on the same page. I really enjoyed PADI’s approach, however I know nothing about SSI. It is a fantastic experience, though! Doing yours in Koh Tao sounds awesome, I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about the diving there from many friends. Sadly we missed out on Koh Tao as we tried to go right after the Full Moon party on Koh Phagnan (along with everyone else) and there was no where to stay!. The nice thing is there is a ton of fabulous diving in Thailand πŸ™‚ . Also, if you’re heading to Cambodia after doing your Open Water you should look at going to Koh Rong Samloem to do some dives, we did our most amazing dives yet there.
      Good luck and have fun! And no worries, I’m glad my information can be useful! If you have any other specific questions feel free to email me at kate.morrison42@gmail.com . Cheers!

Leave a Reply

