Fabric in a clothing store in Jalandar, India

Fabric in India

Fabric in India

Anyone who knows me, or has seen my wardrobe, knows that I love colour–bright, vibrant, rich colour.  Colour was one of the reasons I fell in love with India almost instantly.  Everything there is so colourful–clothing, food, juices, stores, even elephants!  Walking around the markets I was struck by just how different looking into a crowd was than it was at home–here, it was rare to see someone in all black and grey, instead there were outfits made from every colour imaginable.

While shopping for Indian suits, sari’s and lengha’s I was giddy over all of the colour choices we had!  I loved this photo because it attempts to capture that sense of colour love that the shops had–though to in order to fully appreciate it you really need to be standing there.

Leave a Reply

